• 14 finalists were chosen from among 128 projects from 55 countries

Turismo de Portugal I.P (Portugal), Ecotourism Trust (India), Tryponyu (Indonesia) and SEGGITUR (Spain) were the winners in the fourteenth edition of the UNWTO Awards that were given within the International Tourism Fair, held in Madrid from the 17th to the 21st January. 14 finalists were chosen from among 128 projects from 55 countries.

The awards, which were divided into four categories (innovation in public and government policies, innovation in research and technology, innovation in companies and innovation in non-government organisations), were given out at the UNWTO Awards Ceremony held in Madrid within FITUR.

“Today we are awarding the forward-looking vision and commitment of people, public administrations, companies and organisations that are building a better future, day by day, based on the potential of tourism. The work by the finalists of the fourteenth edition of the UNWTO Awards for Innovation is an inspiration to all of us”, said the Secretary General of the UNWTO Zurab Pololikashvili, in his inaugural speech.

The ceremony, organised in collaboration with IFEMA|FITUR and attended by almost 500 guests from many different countries, showcased how the tourism industry has adopted sustainable and innovative approaches.

The UNWTO Awards for Excellence and Innovation in Tourism are convened annually to showcase and promote the work by people and organisations from around the world that has had an impact on the tourism sector. These achievements were the inspiration to develop sustainable and competitive tourism and to promote the values of the UNWTO World Ethics Code for Tourism and Sustainable Development Objectives.

The fourteenth edition of the UNWTO Awards was organised in collaboration with Spain’s International Tourism Fair (IFEMA/FITUR) and was sponsored by: The Tourism Office of the Macao Government, The National Secretariat for Tourism of Paraguay and the Itaipú Biniacional, the Ministry of Tourism of the Argentine Republic, the Ministry of Commerce, Industry and Tourism of Colombia, the Ministry of tourism of Ecuador, Wonderful Indonesia, The Tourism Development Authority of Ras Al-Khaimah and National Geographic.